All aboard the bus

14 Jan

Within hours of Martin Cauchon’s last minute bid to become leader of the federal Liberal Party, Toronto Star political columnist Chantal Hébert unhesitatingly wrote off his chances.

Noting that Cauchon was seen as a member of the Party’s old guard, had no network of supporters, was ignorant of social media tactics and had, in fact, been obliged to rely upon the help of his fellow candidates to qualify for the ballot, Hébert concluded

“If a bus hit the Trudeau campaign, Cauchon could be a fallback candidate to watch against Marc Garneau, Martha Hall Findlay and Joyce Murray.”

At a hastily called media conference, the out-of-breath candidate quickly dismissed Hébert’s analysis of his candidacy.

“I have been preparing for this fight my entire life,” Cauchon said, “or at least since Thomas Mulcair thrashed me in my old Outremont riding back in 2011. As for my social media skills, I would point out that I Tweeted as recently as last October.”

“The public will see me for what I am — a consensus builder, someone who has always had friends on both sides of the House. Why, I would note that Prime Minister Harper called me not two hours ago with an unconditional offer of his old campaign bus.”

